Categories
Medical Thursday Doors Zambia

Thursday Doors gone walkabout

Fancy bit of roadside carpentry to qualify this post for Thursday Doors!

The disheveled old man came into the consultation room and sat down on the chair. Two male family members had brought him to the clinic after he had gone missing from his home for more than a week.

“Uncle Buck just walked out the door,” they said.

The scouts of Conservation South Luangwa had found him on a routine patrol while searching for poachers and snares.

He avoided my gaze and didn’t answer my greeting. “He’s not right, doc,” said his relative. “He used to be a miner in the Copper Belt but ten years ago something happened to him, we don’t know what, and he stopped talking. He came home and hasn’t been the same since.”

This is not a rare event. Some Zambians feel that this withdrawal into silence and passivity is the result of witchcraft. Perhaps he felt alienated working underground in a harsh environment. I considered more medical causes, such as psychosis, dementia, encephalitis, cerebral tuberculosis, a stroke or post-traumatic stress disorder.

Uncle Buck gave us no clues. His rheumy eyes seemed to stare past me. I did a physical examination and reckoned that he was in good shape for someone who had been without food or water for nine days. “Do you think he used bushcraft to find food and safe water?” I asked. “No, he is not capable of doing that,” his relative replied.

Fish Eagle

He is lucky that he has a family who cares for him, gives him sustenance and shelter because there is no government social support.

By Dr Alfred Prunesquallor

Maverick doctor with 47 years experience, I reduced my NHS commitment in 2013. For the past ten years I have enjoyed being free lance, working where I am needed overseas. Retirement beckons.

6 replies on “Thursday Doors gone walkabout”

I really enjoyed your story, although having had grandparents live into their 90s and develop Alzheimer’s, I’m conscious of the risks of our elderly wandering off like that. Glad he was found in time.
Quite an interesting door you found there.
Best wishes,
Rowena

Like

That door you found is a lovely piece of craftsmanship. Nice to know that Uncle Buck was found safe and sound. After nine days, this story could have ended quite differently and often does.

Like

Leave a comment